Fearless Octogenarians and my historical fiction

Carrie Hayes
4 min readJul 24, 2024

When the news is too dreadful for sixty year old whippersnappers like me, it helps to look to the elders. Elders are proof positive, that as bad as things are, (and by golly, on a political level, they’ve been positively blood curdling) they are the evidence that it’s possible to endure. It’s even possible to flourish.

And yet, the gerontocracy which has dominated American politics demonstrates how difficult it is to let go and pass the torch. But Joe Biden’s elegant gesture in doing just that strikes all the chords which are humbling and optimistic and possible. This song was sent to me by my very dear friend Sue. Watching and listening to it, like Sue, I cried. The italics below were written by Keb’Mo’, the singer.

Youtube official video for the singer Keb’ Mo’

https://youtu.be/FciQeRGYFlw

“My mother just recently passed at the age of 91. She was smart. She was strong. She was a leader. This video is dedicated to her and amazing women everywhere that are getting the job done.” -Keb’ Mo

Most of my life has been spent regretting that I didn’t get off my ass to achieve something measurable in the domain of professional accomplishment.

--

--

Carrie Hayes

writes historical fiction and is the host of the podcast Angry Dead Women. linktr.ee/carriehayeswrites